As announced at the International Conference of Magnetism (link), Marius has been awarded IUPAP Young Scientist Medals in the field of magnetism to recognize his outstanding work on spintronics during his PhD at the University of Groningen and his tenure at ICN2, in particular that associated to spin pumping and magnon dynamics.

The Medals are presented every three years, at the International Conference on Magnetism. One medal is usually awarded for theoretical/computational work and one other for experimental work.

A committee composed of the members of the IUPAP Magnetism Committee (C9), together with past recipients of the Magnetism Award has decided to award the 2015 IUPAP Young Scientist Medals in the field of Magnetism to:

Dr. Marius V. Costache
Dr. Masamitsu Hayashi